Forums Latest Members
  1. E30only Nov 1, 2016

Hi all,

I am new to the Omega community and searching for my first omega in life. Feeling excited.

I bet most people will get their first Omega in caliber 321, 861 or 1861 but somehow the 3539 just shines at me. When I do my homework in search of the perfect 3539, i note something strange about the caseback. On some of the 3539 regardless it is 3539.50 or 3539.31, I note that some of the casebacks comes with an additional omega logo under the seahorse as shown in the picture below, while some casebacks only have the seahorse on the caseback. Does anyone know why some of the casebacks have this omega logo on it?

Appreciate your input!!

Cheers

Hpes4KS.jpg imgrc0067766695.jpg
  2. Archer Omega Qualified Watchmaker Nov 1, 2016

This is the Omega symbol they tried to use to limit the distribution of grey market watches by Costco using copyright law...

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Omega_S.A._v._Costco_Wholesale_Corp.

It started after a specific date, but off hand I'm not sure what that date was...often referred to as an anti-counterfeit globe...

Cheers, Al

WatchVaultNYC likes this.
  3. E30only Nov 1, 2016

Wow, thanks for the prompt reply.

So if i understand correctly, only watches sold in the US by an AD after a certain date comes with the Omega symbol?

Thanks

4. E30only Nov 1, 2016

But i note that some limited version Omega issued for the Japanese market also have this Omega symbol on the caseback too.

5. iyzmi Apr 18, 2019

Hi All,

Bumping this old thread as I have the exact same question and have not been able to come up with a satisfying answer. I understand the origins of the Omega globe symbol but have not been able to confirm if there is any reason a 3539.50 would not have it. This ref came out well after the Costco case and 99% of the pics I've seen have the logo. As OP mentioned, even watches sold in Japan have it so I don't believe it is accurate to say it was only found on US watches.