Forums Latest Members

[Price check] 70s Longines Automatic with Calibre 890

1. ahmadulhoq Jul 3, 2017

Hi guys, I'm quite new to vintage watches, therefore I do not have any experience in the prices of vintage Longines watches. Recently I've come across this vintage Longines on Chrono24 and I'm interested in buying this.

Can anyone please help by guiding me if the price is good or not?

Thank you guys! :)

2. argonbeam Jul 3, 2017

Looks completely legitimate. The cal 890 movement is fairly rare, as it replaced the ultrachron line but was itself soon replaced by the 99x series with a different barrel setup. Although NOS, would probably have it serviced (I can't read enough Italian to tell if they have done this), which will set you back a bit for this movement. In terms of price, that is really up to you. I would recommend searching Ebay for other Longines to get an idea of what's available in that price range and seeing what else you might like. I can tell that across the board the prices seem to be higher than they were a year ago. As far as an Italian seller, Longines are quite popular there and I have had two great purchases from Italian sellers.

3. ahmadulhoq Jul 4, 2017

Thank you so much for the insight on the movement.

The watch has been serviced and they will give me 12 months warranty for the watch's timekeeping. I've tried finding other listings on eBay but the prices fluctuate a lot. Chrono24 has another listing for the same watch but with bracelet and mint condition for about 600 USD more than this one.

I guess I will be taking this one! :)

STANDY likes this.
  4. argonbeam Jul 7, 2017