Forums Latest Members
  1. Cozzie Mar 20, 2017

Hi there, I am extremely new to this game and am trying to identify good vintage omega watches. I was completely overwhelmed by all the different types that I decided to hone in on a specific model that caught my eye. I have really been liking the 1960's pie pan connies so I fig I would focus on these at first. I am in no way ready to purchase a watch and prob won't be for some time I really just want to get good at finding a gem before I make the investment. I was hunting around on ebay and came across a connie that I thought I liked. In the description it claims to have a case that is solid rose gold and stainless. However, when I looked at the pics of the back of the lugs I can see stainless steel does this mean that it is actually plated? When I searched its ref # (Ref 14393 61 SC) and calibre 561 on Google and on Omega Constellation Collectors website I could not find a description for a case with solid rose gold and stainless steel. Does this mean that this watch may be some kind of conglomeration? I included some pics. Any insight I could get would be greatly appreciated.

s-l64.jpg s-l500.jpg s-l500 (1).jpg s-l500 (2).jpg s-l64 (1).jpg
  2. Cozzie Mar 20, 2017

Oops sorry some of the pics ended up so tiny I'll try again

s-l500 (3).jpg s-l500 (4).jpg
  3. Foo2rama Keeps his worms in a ball instead of a can. Mar 20, 2017

I highly doubt that's solid gold. In fact you can see it's plated on the lugs as it has worn away/missing on the bottom of the lugs. I don't believe that Omega used solid gold bezels on these either. Generally at this time period if a watch was solid gold the whole watch including caseback would be solid gold.

Here is its brother https://omegaforums.net/threads/sol...pie-pan-ref-14393-61-sc-with-aged-dial.23712/

It's gold capped with a stainless case. As for dial and hands being correct I'll defer to the Connie experts here.

4. Cozzie Mar 20, 2017