Forums Latest Members
  1. Matt B May 8, 2013

I had a few cocktails last night and went on eBay and this Omega Seamaster caught my eye:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/230966418654?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1439.l2648Purchases made through these links may earn this site a commission from the eBay Partner Network

I put in a really low ball bid, and this morning he ended up accepting it. So the watch is now mine.

However after looking at it with a clear head, I'm starting to have doubts about it's originality. I've never seen a seamaster with that type of second hand. the crown also looks very suspect.

Any thoughts guys? Does this watch look like a Franken seamaster or worse a fake?

I'm still new to vintage seamasters, so any expert insight would be appreciated.

2. ulackfocus May 8, 2013

Hi Matt. This watch has problems. It's a 166.0087, but has a replacement crown, refinished dial (or that seller would brag about it being original), and a poor attempt at polishing out gouges. Top that off with a caliber 1002 (without pictures nonetheless) - one of the worst from that era - and you have a dud.

I'd say you should attach a breathalizer to your computer that won't let you log on until your sober! :p

3. gatorcpa ΩF InvestiGator Staff Member May 8, 2013

[​IMG]

No "Swiss Made" at the bottom and the A's are pointed at the top, when they should have a flat top.

Not sure about the seconds hand, it should probably reach out to the edge. Date is out of alignment. Watch looks to be overpolished also. Listing says that the watch has a "bumper-style" movement. If it does, you should return it immediately. Movement should be a rotor automatic. I think it should be this one:

http://www.omegawatches.com/spirit/history/vintage-omegas/vintage-watches-database?ref=14539

The seller is a big-time vintage watch dealer and author. He should know better.

http://www.eashland.net/products/watchGuide.cfm

Apparently, he doesn't think so.
    gatorcpa