Forums Latest Members
  1. pipefitter Jan 30, 2015

Hi all just started to wear my po8500 more regularly and about 2 days ago I realized that it was running around 30 mins fast so set the time correctly and just looked again and it's 15 mins fast in just 2 days....the watch is around 2 years old so shouldn't need a service yet...Is this something that omega would put right?

2. puddlep1rate Jan 30, 2015

I'm no expert in these kind of things, but if you work or are near electronic equipment with your watch, it might be magnetized.

3. Archer Omega Qualified Watchmaker Jan 30, 2015

Magnetism would be the first thing with gains like this, but in this specific case the possibility of this being the problem would depend on what version of the 8500 movement is in your watch. If it is prior to the silicon balance spring, then yes it could be magnetized and causing this gain. If it has the silicon balance spring, then this is not likely to be the issue.

If you PM me the serial number of the watch, I'll see what version of the movement it has.

Can I ask if the hands line up properly when you set the watch to 12? The 8500 watches also have a hand fitting issue and the hands might be drifting, but then you would see a misalignment so the hour and minute hands would not hit the marks properly.

Cheers, Al

4. pipefitter Jan 30, 2015

Thanks...the hands line up perfectly at 12 & i believe that it has the silicone balance spring,on the back it has si14 .
    I'll pm you the serial number

5. Nobel Prize Spell Master! Jan 30, 2015

First I hear of the 8500 having issues. I thought it was bullet proof

6. redpcar Jan 30, 2015

Can you think of any shocks that the watch might have sustained? Sharp knock against a wall? Drop? Definitely sounds like a hairspring/balance issue given that the change was sudden. It would take one heck of a magnetic field to magnetize a modern watch.

7. redpcar Jan 30, 2015