Forums Latest Members
  1. d6diver Dec 10, 2018

So, I was just gifted a vintage PlofProf that is is really good condition that has spent the last 20+ years in a drawer. The original owner was a dive instructor back in the 70's and his son who also one passed it to me (also a dive instructor) because he knew "you will appreciate it"(I'm also a dive instructor, so it's whole passage has been among dive instructors). I tried hard to explain the value of it (money and as a family thing) but he insisted. I ended up insisting on a trade so gave him a couple rifles that I don't appreciate and he will. I still feel I got the better end of this.

Good news, it actually runs when I move it around.

The bad, the date in the date window is misaligned. From my reading I am guessing that at some time it got serviced and the movement replaced with a standard 1002. Can anybody point me in the direction of a proper date wheel for the proper orientation of crown on left?

Also, the locknut turns but regardless of which direction the crown doesn't come out. Can I confirm that to have the crown come out you turn the locknut counter clockwise?

The plastic press button for the bezel is well faded, I am not sure if I will get it replaced when I get it serviced or not, but wouldn't mind a spare on hand, so if anyone can point me in that direction..

My plan at this time is to get it serviced by not refurbished as it really is in excellent cosmetic condition. The face and hands are excellent, the case and band with no scars and just very light scratching. The crystal has a couple small scratches and I am leaning to a sapphire one from 7oceans. The bezel is scratched lightly all over but not hazed and that will not get touched.