Forums Latest Members

Please help with this Fab. Suisse dial

1. hotsauz Aug 9, 2018

Hello all,

I am seeking your opinion on this possible 40s fab suisse dial in 18k gold case. A friend found it and asked me if the dial is original. I am still pretty new to Longines but I think the dial looks ok. I have asked the friend to take better pictures, a movement shot and an inside of caseback shot and I will provide those once they are available. But just from these 2 bad pics, what can you tell me about this piece? Thanks for all your help in advance.

PS: also from the 2nd pic, do the spring bars look fixed or they are the early short stud "male" type? Can we conclude that or need better pics?

22.jpg 33.jpg
    yako54, murph, Syrte and 2 others like this.
  2. Radiumpassion Aug 9, 2018

I think it looks correct and very beautiful. But I would love to see it under a new plexi glass:)

murph, hotsauz and Syrte like this.
  3. Modest_Proposal Trying too hard to be one of the cool kids Aug 9, 2018

Better pics would be nice, but I think the dial's good.

hotsauz and Syrte like this.
  4. Syrte MWR Tech Support Dept Aug 10, 2018

Another vote as above.
    Mind you when you look at the engraving on the back, it must have been considered a really nice watch already back then, I'm sure "Lazard Frères & Cie" wasn't exactly a dump even back then.

I'll be very curious to see pictures from the inside of the watch.
    Clearly looks the exact same as the reference below - auctioned in France a few months ago -with pictures posted by @naidu who won it.
    https://omegaforums.net/threads/help-to-identify-this-old-longines.69658/
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

murph, adi4, merchandiser and 5 others like this.
  5. hotsauz Aug 10, 2018

Thank you and yes a new crystal will bring more of that beauty out.

6. hotsauz Aug 10, 2018

Thank you. I will update with more pics if the friend is able to take more.

7. hotsauz Aug 10, 2018