Forums Latest Members
  1. VintageNoble Sep 4, 2017

Hi guys,

I have an Omega Speedmaster MK40 that i was thinking of selling when some guy approached me through Instagram. Since I don't know him in person and I have never sold a watch before I am seeking for some advice. He proposed a price including shipping costs + PayPal fees. What is the main steps that I have to follow so I won't get played in the end? Many different scenarios go through my mind ::confused2:: Any suggestions ?

2. Larry S Color Commentator for the Hyperbole. Sep 4, 2017

The safest is friends and family or wire transfer before you ship. Looking from his POV he's protecting himself and proposing a square deal IMO. The danger however is that he plays games with his credit card after reciept. I'd call PP just to explore options with them. They will favor the buyer in a dispute. Suggest you arrange a call with the buyer if you are nervous.

gemini4 likes this.
  3. Vercingetorix Spam Risk Sep 4, 2017

Escrow.com

4. sxl2004 Sep 4, 2017

Ship to a verified address only. That way the basic seller protection is covered.

5. VintageNoble Sep 4, 2017

What do you mean by verified address ? Is this the address that he declares in his account? What is also the basic seller protection? Sorry for the many questions, but you are talking to a completely PayPal noob ::facepalm2::

6. CajunTiger Cajuns and Gators can't read newspapers! Sep 4, 2017

Friends and Family is not safe BTW

7. CajunTiger Cajuns and Gators can't read newspapers! Sep 4, 2017

Wire Transfer is the only safe method if you don't know the buyer.

8. abrod520 Sep 4, 2017

You can also ask for references from previous transactions, and follow up. If he's done business with other popular Instagram users who can vouch for him, you can get a better sense of who you're dealing with.

9. Davidt Sep 4, 2017

If paid via credit card, PayPal friends and family or gift can still be reversed and there is no buyer or seller protection.