Forums Latest Members
  1. Vine May 21, 2022

mark.png
  2. rkman11 May 21, 2022

Hi, I am not a Patek expert at all, just a lover and appreciator of the brand, but to me the watch looks beautiful. Case appears to be in very good shape. And I think you’re absolutely right, that is very likely moisture damage from some point over the years. I wouldn’t look to restore that in anyway, not even sure that would be possible without causing further damage. I think it’s part of the watch’s story, and you should wear it and enjoy it! It’s a beauty!
    And that movement!!! Pure art.

3. Tony C. Ωf Jury member May 21, 2022

Looks like moisture damage, as suggested above. The good news is that the movement appears not to have been affected, but there may have been a bad crystal, or seal, leading to moisture gaining access to the dial.

One other point. I can't be certain based on your photos, but those lugs appear to my eye to have been polished at some point.

TheGreekPhysique likes this.
  4. Evitzee May 21, 2022

Watches in this era had very little moisture protection so it's not unusual to see some damage on dials. Just leave it.

5. Vine May 21, 2022

Thank you. Yes, I'm completely new to Patek and this is the first in my collection. I just loved the very pure and simple design, and seeing the movement was a bit of a wow moment for me :)

6. Vine May 21, 2022

Ah ok, thanks that's interesting to know. Do you think that whatever allowed the moisture to gain access would have been replaced on a previous service, or should I be extra cautious or have someone look at it? The watch was fully serviced last month and some of the movement photos were taken at the time.

7. Vine May 21, 2022

Ok, thanks for your reassuring words.

8. Vine May 21, 2022