Optimization of Timegrapher data

I've been using a basic Weishi 1000 timegrapher for a few years now and it's been informative helpful. But not as informative (or at least accurately so) as I thought. Only recently have I found that there are ways to get improved readings that I didn't know about. Turns out it has a gain control, and increasing that has given better readings. Or does it? Particularly in the trace there are fewer random dots with cleaner, more uniform lines now. I assume that the higher gain is giving the more accurate reading? Any thoughts?

Also, the sliding spring loaded side of the clamp has a notch which prompts you to lay the watch with the crown side against that, inserting the crown into that notch. But it turns out that this is wrong. The microphone is at the other, fixed end of the clamp, and so the watch should be laid in (face up) with the crown at that end. I've only tested one watch since I've discovered this and, while the numbers didn't change significantly the trace certainly did. It appears to be a much healthier watch than I thought!

I've had that fixed end covered with a couple layers of scotch tape. Perhaps that shouldn't be done either.

The gain works both ways. Some watches have trouble tripping the timer consistently and need a higher gain setting. On the other side, if the gain is too high, ambient noise will trip the timer randomly and cause inconstant readings (off-curve dots).

As far as scotch tape, I highly recommend it taped to the case where it contacts the microphone, just a single layer and only to protect the case from scratches. While some recommend placing the crown against the fixed end but I've never had to; it usually goes thru the cutout.