Forums Latest Members
  1. msp1518 Aug 15, 2015

http://www.ebay.com/itm/291536568053Purchases made through these links may earn this site a commission from the eBay Partner Network

This looks genuine, though I wonder what the heck is going on with those blue tinted hands (which he admits are replacements, but are they from omega?).

I still want a SM300 and wonder if this would be worth purchasing and restoring. Anyone have an opinion on this one? And what is a reasonable price for this particular specimen. Anything that needs to be pointed out that an amateur like myself would miss? The dial doesn't have any real patina so maybe it was replaced at some point in the past.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. Davidt Aug 15, 2015

I'm not an expert on these by any means. It looks genuine, but the lume has been washed off the dial markers, hence the lack of yellow/orange indicies. It also looks as though the hands were re-lumed rather than replaced.

3. msp1518 Aug 15, 2015

I just heard from the seller. Seems the watchmaker re-lumed the hands. So that explains why they look off-kilter.

4. DON Aug 15, 2015

No clue on prices with these nowadays. 2003 I used to buy them for $350 and last year or the year before Watchco was selling a number of similar looking (with original hands) and they were going for about $1100 on or about.

Movement is super clean. original or replacement from a dress watch?

Case is right. Bezel has a few cracks, but nothing major

Looks like someone removed the luminous in order to avoid a clashing of color of the relumed hands. 5 index still has some of the original at the tip

Use completed Ebay auctions to compare condition and get a price

DON

5. CajunTiger Cajuns and Gators can't read newspapers! Aug 15, 2015

The dial and hands have zero appeal.
    Do you have a budget range? I would pass on this.

RawArcher likes this.
  6. msp1518 Aug 16, 2015