Forums Latest Members
  1. PerJ Oct 18, 2017

Hi guys,

I wanted to hear your opinion on an old Omega that sold yesterday here in Sweden. I am by no means an expert on these watches so I would greatly appreciate your thoughts on this piece. We discussed it on a local forum but it seems these are so rare and few around that it is difficult to reach a conclusion.

Hopefully it is correct but I have my doubts regarding the dial. Condition is mint as you can see from the photos. Not only the dial color but also the Omega logo and text seem too wide and big for me for a watch from the 40's. Of course it was a big watch even then but it doesn't look like what I would expect for a 1945 watch.

Unfortunately a lot of reference material on the net is gone due to Photobucket but I am confident many of you are knowledgable on the subject. It hammered for a strong price which could imply that it is indeed a great watch in great condition. I am mostly just curious. :)

Thank you for taking the time to look!

https://online.auktionsverket.se/1710/478313-omega-chronometre-herrarmbandsur/

[​IMG]

Skrotis likes this.
  2. jumpingsecond Oct 18, 2017

Looks pristine so understandable that suspicions are raised. Some of these chronometers have been refinished to such a high standard its very difficult to differentiate from original without close inspection of naked dial. I found this example online. Somewhat similar but not quite. One of the experts like @Bill Sohne or @mac_omega will hopefully tell you more.
    12080527_927505237319569_30600266_n.jpg

3. TropicConnie Oct 18, 2017

I'd hardly call that dial mint, but it's certainly very good for the age. A very neat piece of Omega history.

4. Tony C. Ωf Jury member Oct 18, 2017

I believe it to be a redial, and partly for the reasons that you stated: fonts are too large for that period.

Also, too clean. The watch is nowhere near being in "mint" condition – just look at the high-res photos.