Forums Latest Members

Opinion on this 1962 9K Longines Cal.23Z

1. blacktiger Mar 25, 2017

Hi guys,

Come across this vintage 1962 Longines and wondered what you guys thought about.

At first glance, to me (I'm fairly new to the vintage watch market) it appears to be all sound, and I personally cannot see signs of a redial, but again this is to the untrained eye I suppose. Perhaps there is, which is why I thought best to post on here and get a few others opinion who are far more clued up on these pieces.

There's the obvious few small marks and scratches but I am more worried about the authenticity of this piece, as I have no prior knowledge of this model, as I had planned on looking into purchasing a 1954 Heritage. I don't think the seller is trying to hide anything, as the photos are of good quality and the movement and reference numbers on the back of the case can be seen easily, whether these match up remains to me seen!

According to the seller, the watch was also serviced in 2012, I'll ask for proof of this, however. I've never heard of the caliber movement, simply because the caliber in watches is still what I am coming to terms with! I found a similar piece online with the same dial, however a different caliber of: Cal.370 Manual

I am going to ask for some more photos of the watch from the seller, so I will post these here also when these come through.

So if anyone could help me shed some light on this piece, ie any history you may know, or some feedback on the piece, in general, I would be so very grateful.

Below is the information was given by the seller. Thanks, guys!

- Dan

Information:

The solid gold case is in very good condition. It is 9k and 33 mm in diameter excluding lugs and original, signed winding crown. The case back bears a reference of 7297 1 769 on its inner alongside the Longines signature. Furthermore, the importer's initials of 'Baume' and the London import Assay hallmarks for 1962, 9k gold.