Forums Latest Members
  1. blacktiger Apr 15, 2017

Hi Guys,

As many of you will know if you've seen me around, I have been longing for a vintage piece for a few months now and have been holding off on various purchases and biding my time.

Let me start off by saying, I'm glad I have as my style preference has changed dramatically since I began my search, my first post I was longing for a Connie or Seamaster, gold with a leather strap. Coming to the realization that perhaps for my first piece - which I will insist on wearing every day - it needs to be a little more rugged. I'm not sat down all day, which means it's likely going to be knocked and dinged as much as it pains me to say.

For this reason I've changed my choice to a more rugged Diver style - the ultimate goal in the future being the James Bond SM 300 2561.80 - For now, however, I've been looking around and still wanting to keep with a swiss auto movement, the Tag Heuer Aquaracer, is a model I've been looking and do like the style - it's similar to the SM300 & Submarina without being a complete homage.

Just wondered, what your opinion on the brand Tag Heuer is, I've heard some watch collectors criticise and overlook the brand, but not too sure why. Also, if there are any other brands out there that are similar stylings to the SM300 Bond, preferably Swiss made. ;) (I've heard Oris etc)

Thanks for your help once again guys!

I've attached a few photos of the styles from Tag I like, also the general diver style I like. Including the SM300 babe ;) - The 1000 is my least preferred simply because of it's similarity to the Submarina :p

- Dan

5001127195_28f2f6ea0e_z.jpg 0873be205fddc8eea22b869771870992.jpg WAY211A-BA0928.png
  2. chows99 Apr 15, 2017

My opinion is if sm300 is ur ultimate dream not too far away, do not settle for 2nd best. Just keep stashing away the cash and enjoy the moment when you finally gets it.

George.A, Foo2rama, Jwit and 3 others like this.
  3. blacktiger Apr 15, 2017