Forums Latest Members
  1. Steve.M. Nov 3, 2022

Hi vintage Speedy fans!
    This piece came in last year from the Niece of previous owner so my questions were not really answered…
    An interesting question from someone that encouraged me to create this Thread, Does this reference or similar references come with Sunburst Brushed polish on case around crystal or does it come with high polish? Based on comparing more than a dozen similar pieces I still can’t tell. Maybe someone can help with the question of what does the Original factory finish look like on these pieces? TIA

0B16ACD2-14E5-4E3B-B625-BCB9E35931DE.jpeg
  2. Ocean Nov 3, 2022

From my knowledge sunburst brushed polish but I am not an expert. Waiting for opinions of more experienced members.

Steve.M. likes this.
  3. Steve.M. Nov 3, 2022

Thank you, me too patiently waiting ;)

4. Ascalon Nov 3, 2022

Yes, a Mark III should have the radial brushed finish.
    If it doesn't, it can affect value, but if it doesn't bother you then leave it alone.
    You can restore it to at least a semblance of the original finish yourself.
    Mask the crystal and the crown and pushers, and then lightly rub it with some very fine grit emery paper, or scotchbrite in the radial pattern.
    Works to clean up the case on my Mark II.

5. flqt-9000 Nov 4, 2022

Ascalon likes this.
  6. Steve.M. Nov 7, 2022

Good read, thank you

7. Steve.M. Nov 7, 2022

8. Steve.M. Nov 7, 2022

I appreciate the direction, I may try and share results. Thank you

9. JanV Nov 8, 2022

For the love of god, don’t even consider doing it. Don’t know why anyone would even suggest such a thing to a new member here in the forum. This will devalue the watch immediately if not done by a professional watchmaker.

Steve.M., flqt-9000 and Ascalon like this.
  10. tyrantlizardrex Nov 8, 2022

Never mind “devalue” it will just be bloody awful.