Forums Latest Members

Omega Speedmaster Co-Axial

1. oli.wilsonn Feb 28, 2018

Hi there ,
    I am new to the omega forum and am relativeley new to the watch scene. I have been offered a speedmaster co-axial moonwatch. Reference 311.30.44.51.01.002, I have had a look around and there is a lot of proffesional speedmasters, but not many of the co-axial versions.
    Is there any reasons for this?
    Was the Co-Axial not a particularly collectable or nice watch to own?
    Was it deemed as too large?

Secondly does anyone think it looks too large for my wrist and does anyone have any photos of it on a different strap, such as a leather tan, brown or black strap?

Thanks for your help and all opinions welcome! Just do not roast me!

XwrUvgSfTJWCGhADIc22dA.jpg yJrCMaBTS4ylg9NxwRK2fA.jpg
  2. oli.wilsonn Feb 28, 2018

Also fully aware it needs a clean :)

3. time flies Feb 28, 2018

One answer might suggest the Speedmaster Professional has been around a while in one incarnation or another. The co-axial not really. But... that's only one thought. I don't know.

Too large? What do you think?

have fun
    -kfw

oli.wilsonn likes this.
  4. eugeneandresson 'I used a hammer, a chisel, and my fingers' Feb 28, 2018

Welcome

MMmm...the fine folk of this forum usually go all frothy everywhere over vintage watches...and not so much the modern ones. That said, this is a really fine Speedy and is great value if you are not paying retail price, but second hand market value. The patriotic Moonwatch folk no-doubtedly feel this watch doesn't deserve the title of 'Moonwatch' (as that is what Omega have called it) as its in no way related to THE Moonwatch, other than aesthetically. Quite a few do own both, but there is not much to discuss, as they are, well, new and mostly still the same and in same condition that they were when they came off the factory floor...hence the lack of substance posts other then 'what kind of strap this' and 'does that make me look fat'...