Forums Latest Members

Omega Speedmaster 145.022-69ST

1. Basel1893 Mar 14, 2020

Hi Speedy fans,

I'm a newbie but still a collector. Currently I do have the actual reference and an Ultraman. I'm now looking for a vintage piece since I quite like them as longer I see them. Due to this I've opened a short advertisement on a local newspaper. Now a guy reached out to me and offered me the attached beauty. He said it was given long time back ago from his father to him and now he wants to sell it. His father purchased it long time ago in Switzerland (where I'm also from). There are no OG box & papers available. He said that the watch only runs 24 hours after winding (I guess this would be the easiest problem to fix).
    According to my MOONWATCH ONLY book most of the parts fit to this year. I guess only the bracelet is not original. Maybe the hands also have been replaced but I don't know. He said that the case-back is also original with a picture of a "seahorse" hehe. I currently only have this picture but I asked for more detailed ones.
    He offered me the piece for 5500 Swiss Francs which is actually a good price I guess? To be on the save side for the next step (I have to drive one hour to see the watch in person) I wanted to double check with your expertise if you might see something additional which I don't. Thanks in advance for your support. You can also just let me know your opinion if you want.

Cheers,
    Tobi

mms_img-1377098326.jpg
    padders likes this.
  2. OMEGuy Mar 14, 2020

Bezel, crown and bracelet are maybe replaced, not sure, but possible. This depends on the production date.

Judging by this single bad picture, I'd say that dial and hands are original and the case doesn't look overpolished. The dial is maybe washed?

Though I don't think the asking price is a bargain for this watch, I'd invest 2 hours of my life to see this watch in person, take some better pictures and then come back here.

Edited Mar 14, 2020
  3. Dan S Mar 14, 2020