Forums Latest Members
  1. K-D-A Mar 8, 2014

Dear all,

I was just offered this omega speedmaster 105.003-65 for USD 3,500. It has pitting on the case, some fading in the dial, a scratched up bezel, and when I popped the back off, it looked like there were some new parts in the movement. But all these rough traits made it look on the whole quite attractive for the price. What do you guys think? Any opinions?

IMG_8349.jpg IMG_8352.jpg IMG_8348.jpg IMG_8347.jpg
  2. Spacefruit Prolific Speedmaster Hoarder Mar 8, 2014

Based only on the inadequate photos, its a buy at that level.

Others may criticise, with foundation, the watch - but that is the answer to your question.

Darlinboy likes this.
  3. K-D-A Mar 8, 2014

Thank you for the feedback, I am not an expert watch collector or photographer, just looking for some advice... Here are two more pics.

IMG_8356.jpg IMG_8355.jpg
  4. K-D-A Mar 8, 2014

Any other observations would be very welcome thank you.

5. Spacefruit Prolific Speedmaster Hoarder Mar 8, 2014

Ah. Well you didn't ask.

Dial is attractive, but not in fine condition, and seems correct for the reference. There are splotches others will not like. As an overall look though, I accept it.
    Hands look commensurate and attractive, complimenting the rest of the watch

Bezel is correct but in poor condition. I accept it

Case is in good, not fine condition - its ok, not great

Pushers are wrong size, possibly crown too but I am less bothered by that.

Movement should be pulled up together (as will the pushers) after a full service, and the case will come up with a light polish - NOT REFINISH. (Polish = cleaning with cloths and fluids, NO metal removal)

I think it is a great usable watch - its had a hard life, but then it is a sports watch and will continue to serve.

For the money, as you asked, its a buy

Time Exposure, JohnSteed and marturx like this.
  6. K-D-A Mar 8, 2014