Forums Latest Members
  1. Nicetomeetyou Jan 7, 2017

Hi All,

Just wondering if anyone can chime in here. Specifically if it looks correct (redial/movement/etc). I'm new to vintage watches and have an appreciation for these sector dials.

It's an Omega ref ck 859. I have attached some pics of dial, case back, movement. To my eye, it looks the same as a lot sold in May/2016.

http://www.christies.com/lotfinder/...and-attractive-stainless-5992797-details.aspx omega-1-.jpg omega-oversize-sector-dial-4-.jpg omega-oversize-sector-dial-5-.jpg omega-oversize-sector-dial-6-.jpg

What do you think?

Thanks in advance!

heavenscloud likes this.
  2. ConElPueblo Jan 7, 2017

3. Rman Jan 8, 2017

Boy these are appreciating quickly!;)

Tom Dick likes this.
  4. Edward53 Jan 8, 2017

I thought the dial looked really good until I saw the vertical line way off centre in the Omega symbol and the different-sized 0's. You need to blow that image up and scrutinise it for consistency. I would if I were a potential customer but I'm not so I can't be bothered.

5. Tom Dick and Harry Jan 8, 2017

Nice sector dials are well worth having but people obsess of the fact these are 37mm ex crown! The example at auction has a badly worn dial and I have seen better examples.

They are extremely rare watch, Mick English has had a few over the years which have been stunners but personally I don't find this one particularly attractive

6. François Pépin Jan 8, 2017

Like Edward, I think the dial looks Ok except the line issue. Not sure it is necessarily a sign of a redial though.

I like sector dials 26,5 (I like almost all the 26,5 actually!). But I am not sure two or three more cm in diameter is worth so much money - I probably should have phrased that in another way!
    I would prefer a very nice exemple of 30-33 cm - actually you could buy several with the current price!

By the way, the movement is correct and looks good.

7. Tony C. Ωf Jury member Jan 8, 2017