Forums Latest Members
  1. SpeedyMcNasty Nov 14, 2014

I am considering a few watches to be my first big purchase in the watch world. Three news ones I am considering are the PloProf, Rolex Sea-Dweller or DSSD. One vintage watch I am considering is the Seamaster SHOM. I am wary of buying a vintage watch, the guy seems upfront/honest and guarantees its authenticity (not a watchco) but I was wondering what you guys think. If it is a genuine vintage Omega, do you guys think it has been restored? Any thoughts on a fair price?

From my research the watch seems to look like other authenticated pictures I have seen on various sites, but I am a complete novice in the watch world.

Other thoughts/recommendations on a first watch would be appreciated too!

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. Taddyangle Convicted Invicta Wearer Nov 14, 2014

I have the Watchco SHOM and I see them selling between $1800-$2200 depending on condition and bracelet. Mine was mint and I picked it up from a third party.

95% of the ones I saw for sale when I was looking were all Watchco and all in great to mint condition. Not very often will you come across a true vintage for sale.

On the one you posted, you can see the pearl in the bezel and in the vintage/original ones I have looked at there was not a pearl.

Also, I bet if he sends you a lume shot you can light up a room.

I actually prefer mine on rubber.

shomss.JPG

SpeedyMcNasty likes this.
  3. Taddyangle Convicted Invicta Wearer Nov 14, 2014

I guess what I am saying is, if it was original, it has since been restored to the point that it might as well be a Watchco watch.

4. mondodec Editor Constellation Collectors Blog Nov 14, 2014

Firstly, the description of the watch as a SHOM is entirely inaccurate. The idea that this was a bespoke model commissioned and designed for SHOM is a fantasy.