Forums Latest Members

Omega Seamaster Deville 1960's: HELP needing correct crown replaced

1. Flux2 Oct 6, 2015

I have an omega seamaster deville watch that I had sent out to get overhauled. The original crown had a loose washer in between the crown and case. The watchmaker doing the service replaced the crown (different from the original) and pin. Now, when the crown is pulled out to the third position to set the date, it's loose. This never happened with the original crown.

Here is a video showing what happens.

I'm also including the only image of the original crown I have from this watch. It's a bit blurry, but you can see it's not the same crown as the "new" one on the watch now.

I contacted the watch repair person about it, but he insisted it was ok. But, I want to get the proper replacement crown and this problem fixed.

Can anyone recommend someone that can handle this?

I've taken my watch to several local people in my area and they all say they can't get the right part(s). Even though I gave them several places to look for them online....I'm baffled. Please help!

Original Crown.jpg
    Edited Oct 6, 2015
  2. Flux2 Oct 6, 2015

Can anyone chime in and tell me if this loose crown is normal?

3. TNTwatch Oct 6, 2015

It's not normal. The replacement crown likely has too large tube size, or something is wrong with the crown and stems. Crowns with the old style are still available, but I don't know if they will fit. Omega specified replacement crown is also definitely available from Omega or parts suppliers like CousinsUK or Ofrei. Here's one from Ofrei, based on my guess your watch model is 166.020: http://www.ofrei.com/page_147.html#8006.

4. Flux2 Oct 6, 2015

Thank you for the reply and confirmation that its not a normal function. At least now I know Im not nuts for thinking that.