Forums Latest Members
  1. tottenham4life Nov 16, 2018

so I’m new to the watch game and I’m absolutely loving it. I started 2 years ago and have bought 4 up until now. I started with a Casio gshock, then bought a vintage Hamilton electric Ventura. My third was a datejust Rolex and finally my last purchase was a vintage omega seamaster Seville automatic day date. I have to say my favorite one has to be the omega. I bought it used for $600. At the time it wasn’t working and it needed to be serviced. Fair enough I thought it’s only normal because it is a very old watch. Looking around I think $600 seemed reasonable enough because others were triple that. I took it to an omega store we have here in Atlanta Georgia. They were saying since it was vintage it needed to be sent to Switzerland and serviced there at an omega facility. Mind you I’m not wealthy but I’m not lower middle class either, but the prices they were talking about were absolutely ridiculous. They told me it would cost $3000. Yes 3k! I looked at them like they lost their mind. Why would I even consider paying that to get it restored? I know these watches aren’t cheap to be worked on but that was ridiculous. I could buy a brand new seamaster with that money. I told them I would think about it (NOT!). I was finally able to find a small watch shop with an omega certified horologist. He apparently had the pleasure of meeting George Daniels first hand and learned a few things from him. He gave me an estimate of $900 usd. That would include replacing the crown because it was far gone. The hour hand and minute hand. Replacing the crystal and polishing the watch in and out. Also the luminous marks on each hour mark were repainted and the watch was fully serviced because it wasn’t keeping time Correctly. The watch basically went a full blown restoration. I have to say for the price and quality of his work I was very impressed. This watch now keeps better time than my Rolex!! Well that’s my rap about my omega and w