Forums Latest Members
  1. Varasc Mar 9, 2013

Good evening,

I am new in this fascinating forum and in my previous topic,

http://omegaforums.net/threads/omega-speedmaster-professional-new-user.4324/

I have been kindly suggested to create a new thread concerning my grandfather's Omega Seamaster Cosmic, shown here.
    We have been asked 1085 Euro for restoring it in Switzerland and we refused the preempt, as too expensive. The bracelet was probably not original.
    The watch still perfectly works when charged (just tried).
    I would like to restore it but I would kindly ask your opinion, before. We would be pleased to use again this watch for familiar affection, but it would be useless to spend so many money for something maybe not worthy.
    I tried to identify if through the Omega's website Vintage Watches Search system but I still have some doubts.

OSC uno.JPG

OSC due.JPG

OSC tre.JPG

Thank you and kind regards,

Marco

Dablitzer likes this.
  2. CanberraOmega Rabbitohs and Whisky Supporter Mar 9, 2013

It is a beautiful watch and a great heirloom. The first user ion is what do you mean by restore? If all you want to do is ensure that it works well, keeps time an can keep going for another 50 years just take it to a good independent watchmaker who can service it. People here should be able to recommend someone, depending on where u live. That should cost maybe 200-300 dollars if no parts are needed. Plus extra for parts, new crystal etc. a good aftermarket (non omega) leather strap will cost around $50.

3. Varasc Mar 10, 2013

Thanks indeed CanberraOmega, very kind. I think I'll follow your suggestion.

I live in Milan (Lombardy) and Biella (Piedmont), both cities in Northern Italy.

Thank you,

Marco

4. Dablitzer Mar 10, 2013

I have to agree that is lovely - I especially like the dial with Roman numerals on that one. :thumbsup:

5. CanberraOmega Rabbitohs and Whisky Supporter Mar 10, 2013