Forums Latest Members
  1. captainfay Nov 2, 2017

Dear All,

as a new member of the community I would really appreciate the help of the deeply respected experts. I'm considering to buy my really first vintage Omega watch (for my own pleasure and daily usage), but the seller is far away from me so I can lay my decision only based on the pictures posted by him. I've been already investigating a couple of hours to find something similar on the internet, but as a total newbie I can explore a few deviations compared to the found ones. Below are my assumptions (please feel free to correct me, any new/corrected information is more than welcomed):
    -it is from the 60's (according to the seller it is from around '67)
    -back than Omega noted that all watches may have small deviations in terms of dial painting
    -hands and crown seem to be original (or at least look like original, so seemingly not replaced)
    -they call it "crosshair" painting (as the line crosses the Omega sign)
    -graving on the case back is pretty sharp, so it was not being worn on a daily basis I guess

deviations/hesitations:
    -on similar watches the hour marks are narrower
    -the Omega sign is a bit curvy, somewhere between vintage and today's signs
    -there is no picture from the inside

and finally the pictures..
    upload_2017-11-2_23-10-26.png
    upload_2017-11-2_23-10-50.png
    upload_2017-11-2_23-11-31.png
    upload_2017-11-2_23-11-59.png

Thank you for all your help, opinion, notion and anything,
    Peter

2. fjf Nov 2, 2017

captainfay and McKinley like this.
  3. McKinley Nov 2, 2017

FWIW: I have a Seamaster Cosmic, also from 1967 by the serial number at the watchmakers right now and I just looked at pics of it on my phone and it has the same interruptions. I am no expert and am waiting on the one example to be cleaned and a correct crown placed on it, but have been assured by my watchmaker that the dial is original.

McK

captainfay likes this.
  4. dan7800 Nov 2, 2017