Forums Latest Members

SOLD Omega Seamaster Calendar 2849-2 in excellent condition - $650

1. BenBagbag Jan 25, 2018

Dear OF,

Making room for a Hungarian bride I'm expecting in the mail soon (it's just a watch :D). Still hoping to make my first sale within the OF community and I think this piece may be the one! If anything is incorrect please let me know (by PM!).

For sale or trade is a Seamaster Calendar (Ref. 2849-2) dated around 1958. Watch has diameter of 34mm and is ~42mm lug to lug. It is in really fine condition and all parts are correct.

Aesthetics:
    Dial is original and in excellent shape. Dial has a sunburst finish/texture like you see on many of the Constellations and it looks really really sharp.
    Original crown is signed and is period correct.
    Case is in great condition. You can see the bevels on each lug (I tried to capture it in pictures). The case certainly hasn't seen the polishing wheel all that much if at all but see pictures as I'm not an expert...
    Hands are in good shape with only minimal corrosion. Crystal is signed and original (but hard to capture in pics for this amateur photographer but you can kind of see it in the macro dial shot). Has the built in cyclops which is a really nice touch. Not sure if markers are onyx but they sure are shiny.
    Caseback has the sharp Hippocampus (seahorse) and "Waterproof" text at the bottom is very legible.

Movement:
    Watch has a caliber 503. Watch is running and rotor is functioning properly, however a service is recommended. Watch has not been worn much in my possession and runs a bit fast (somewhere in the +25 to +60 second range per day). Movement is in good shape but is probably dry. Crown is tight against the case and winding is stiff. Date advances smoothly when wound back to 11 and then forward to 12. I believe a simple service is in order to ensure accuracy and smoother winding.

Watch is sold/traded as head only.