Forums Latest Members

Omega Seamaster Cal 552 (Considering buying this, need advice)

1. theomegagirl96 Jan 4, 2020

Hello!

I found this really old Seamaster Cal 552 that I am seriously considering to purchase. The watch works perfectly mechanically but the dial looks to be in pretty bad shape. I am wondering if some 3rd party servicing/cleaning by a professional might make any difference to this? Also I am looking to offer around 350USD for this. Am I being reasonable in offering this for this particular piece? I notice cal 552 seamsters in better shape than this one going for about 500USD in some cases.

Lurked in this forum for a while only to be surprised by how knowledgable and helpful many of you guys are! Thought I would have a go too! Also as for me, I am fairly new to vintage omegas but have spent many months reading and researching on ones I am very keen on.

Any help on this would be greatly appreciated!

IMG_6239.PNG IMG_6238.PNG
  2. Shabbaz Jan 4, 2020

Welcome!

I would save a bit longer and wait for a better example. Patience is the key. ;)

theomegagirl96 likes this.
  3. Shabbaz Jan 4, 2020

The movement is also in need of a service. So IMO it's better keep saving and wait for a better one.

theomegagirl96 likes this.
  4. theomegagirl96 Jan 4, 2020

Thank you for the quick reply, haha looks like I have some more waiting to do then :)

Also for my general knowledge could you also help to answer these 2 questions?

1) Do you think this watch can even be reasonably serviced whilst being in this condition?

2) Also if someone was just pawning this off, would it still be worth to get it, maybe at like $100 USD? What would be a reasonable offer for a watch in this condition, in your opinion if you don't mind me asking?

5. Shabbaz Jan 4, 2020