Forums Latest Members
  1. BobWayne Dec 9, 2016

I have my great uncles Seamaster Tachymetre 861 which I sent to Omega to refurbish as it was in pretty bad shape. I am wondering if it is worth having it refurbished since they want to charge me @ $2k to do so. Any advice is appreciated

2. Foo2rama Keeps his worms in a ball instead of a can. Dec 9, 2016

Get it back. Omega tends to return watches to as close to brand new as possible which means they replace the dial and hands which ruins its value.

As for the price without knowing condition of the watch who knows what the price would be at an independent watchmaker generally cheaper though.

Once you get the watch back and post some pictures of it the forum would be happy to recommend someone near you who can service it.

Is it a Speedmaster though? Seamasters don't normally have tachometers.

Edit

Ok almost all 861 seamasters have a tach...

Edited Dec 9, 2016
  3. Taddyangle Convicted Invicta Wearer Dec 9, 2016

Pics please.

Maybe great uncle's watches passed down are different than uncle watches passed down.

Likely answer is no, but really need pics to get a good answer from those here. We don't know what exactly is "pretty bad shape".

4. ulackfocus Dec 9, 2016

No pics, eh?

No camera Bob? If not, I'm sure your cousin Bruce has a good one he can loan you. He has the best gadgets!

5. Davidt Dec 9, 2016

I'd agree with the above that any vintage watch wirth servicing is better done by an independent, sympathetic to vintage pieces. You quote the estimate in £, are you in the UK? If so, Swiss Time Services/SwissTec are a cheaper, around enter option.

Also, there are several Seamaster 861's with tachy, so this could well be correct. Get some pics uploaded and we'll be able to offer more help b

Edit - sorry you didn't quote in £ at all. Still, don't send it to Omega unless you want it looking brand new. And if you do, just buy a new one.

Edited Dec 9, 2016
  6. BobWayne Dec 9, 2016