Forums Latest Members
  1. Commander D Feb 26, 2015

This my first vintage purchase. I have been looking for something vintage for quite some time and eventually settled on a Seamaster 600 based on its clean look and simple elegance. I realize the fact that it has had its case polished, face cleaned and the crystal replaced may not be to everyone's taste but it was exactly what I was looking for. The photos were taken by the eBay seller I purchased from and I will add my own once I have the brown Horween Shell Cordovan strap I bought from NOMOS for it fitted.
    I do however have one novice question to ask about manual wind movements. I have an automatic Seamaster 2531.80.00 (Bond) which when it has been left unused for a week and I pick it up begins to tick again. I would have assumed however in the case of a manual wind watch that movement would have no effect on it ticking, yet when I took the Seamaster 600 from its packaging and began to admire it it started moving. I opened the caseback to confirm the movement is the one photographed, which it is. It has kept good time for the past hour having been wound but I am concerned that it seemed to move of its own volition when I unwrapped it. Is this a fault with the watch?
    $_57 (3).JPG $_57 (11).JPG

rhetoric likes this.
  2. Hijak Feb 26, 2015

You have a very nice watch there! Why do you think the case has been polished and the dial has been cleaned...everything looks really good from your pictures. I think the case and dial look just fine, the edges on the case look sharp and the dial looks totally origional (and having crystal replaced is no big deal). The crown looks origional as well. I have a 136.011, same watch just with date and yours looks very good! Movement looks very clean too with serial number dating it to ~1966. Congrats on a great find and enjoy your first vintage watch.:thumbsup:

Commander D likes this.
  3. Bruffell06 Feb 26, 2015