Forums Latest Members
  1. rumpel Sep 6, 2016

Hi all,
    since I am just beginning to understand all the intricacies and pitfalls of vintage watches and currently look into buying a nice 60s steel seamaster for starters – I need your advice on this 562 cal watch. Does it look legit to you? Is the buckle period correct? Estimated value? Should I wait for a Seamaster 30 oder 600?

Thank you.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. fjf Sep 6, 2016

May be the glass...but the dial has a weird dent around 7-8 markers??

3. mondodec Editor Constellation Collectors Blog Sep 6, 2016

Okay a quick lesson in assessing a watch, as normally forum contributors will want to see what you think of it before chiming in.

Case: moderately sharp and still has observable chamfers on the lugs, which is an important element to inspect because case condition determines vale to a point. Second, and we can't do this here, it is important to match the model number with the calibre. The Omega vintage database is useful for this. You may like to ask for a pic of the inner case back for this purpose and check the database. Third, inspection of the movement . Is it clean? are there any signs of rust or scudding of the rotor. Are there gouges or scratches, possibly indicating replacements parts that have swilled around a parts drawer. Are the hues of the copper/beryllium plating the same, indicating original parts not swapped?