Forums Latest Members
  1. szand4 Feb 6, 2013

Hello everyone!

I have used this forum as a reference multiple times, but this is my first time posting. I was recently helping my dad clean out his old stuff and came across an early/mid 1970s Omega Seamaster. Upon doing some research I learned that it is a gold plated Seamaster ref. 176.007. I fell in love with the watch and would like to restore and keep it. The watch is in pretty bad shape externally, but still runs despite sitting in a drawer for almost 15 years. The story my dad told me was that he was working on a car engine when the watch dropped into the engine, hit the engine fan which deflected it back up to hit the hood and finally drop to the ground. Amazingly the movement was unaffected!

I am posting pictures of the watch to see what steps you guys think need to be taken to restore the watch. I took it to Omega, which sent my watch to Seattle for a quote. They quoted me at $905 for a full overhaul of the watch, which according to them will make the watch brand new EXCEPT for the case which cannot be refurbished due to extreme signs of wear. Because they could not tell me the exact condition the watch would be sent back to me, I decided not to go through with it until I get the case refurbished.

I am curious to know:
    1) Whether the case can be refurbished. If so, to what extent?
    2) Does he gold plating need to be redone? Is that even possible?
    3) Is the $905 quote from Omega reasonable, or would I be better off finding an independent watch restoration shop?
    4) Is it even worth restoring?

NOTE: I am not interested in selling the watch. It has too much sentimental value as it was given to my dad on his wedding, and now passed on to me 40 year later.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. ulackfocus Feb 6, 2013