Forums Latest Members
  1. ArchStanton Dec 7, 2018

Hi everyone,

I'm a new member of this forum. Nice to meet you all.

I'm also new to the vintage watch game and I recently purchased a vintage Omega.

It is the Omega you can see in the pictures. What I can tell you about the watch is that it is a ref 2405-5 with a calibre 283 movement and serial number 1162449. The Omega logo and daggers are raised and gold colored. The hour and minute hand are gold as well and the second hand is blue. The case is 36mm. There is no Omega logo on the crystal or crown. The watch it's self works fine so far. I Like the ticking it makes :)

I know I probably should have consulted this forum before buying, but I found out about the forum afterwards. So I did some research on my own (looking up the ref, cal and serial numbers, checking pictures from other watches from that reference) and decided it was legit so I went on and bought it.

Apart from that I don't know anything about the watch and I'm really curious to find out what the experts on this forum can tell me about it. Any information you can give me is greatly appreciated.

I thank you kindly in advance!

omega1.jpg omega2.jpg omega3.jpg omega4.jpg omega5.jpg omega6.jpg omega7.jpg omega8.jpg omega9.jpg

2. Shabbaz Dec 7, 2018

Hi, welcome to the forum!

If you look at that dial, do you have the feeling it's from app 1947?

3. JimInOz Melbourne Australia Dec 7, 2018

All of the details you provided make sense. the caliber 283 was introduced in 1949 and thee serial number dates the movement to about 1947/1950. The crown looks to be a generic replacement. The dial has been re-finished/re-painted and the hands are not likely to have come with the watch originally, however they are used on watches from that period.

heavenscloud likes this.
  4. Shabbaz Dec 7, 2018

5. Shabbaz Dec 7, 2018

But I can understand people would find this a attractive dial. But most here on OF are looking for the original stuff... But enjoy your watch!