Forums Latest Members
  1. C.R. Hoedeman Feb 22, 2016

Guys,

I need your help. I can buy this beautiful Omega Railmaster. It is a reference 2914-4 with movement 284. From the serial number on the movement I think it is from 1958.

Please give me your opinion as I really value yours. Is it all original, any things to keep in mind? What do you reckon the market price of this piece is?

Thanks in advance!
    Best regards,
    Christian from the Netherlands

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. Charles@UW Feb 22, 2016

I don't think the bracelet is original, however, the crown is lovely. I'm not an expert for Railmaster. Just hope can get one eventually.

3. abrod520 Feb 22, 2016

Can you get a better shot of the dial from head-on? From the angles you posted it looks like the lume is a little greenish.

The case looks heavily polished, but it's old so I guess that'll happen.

4. C.R. Hoedeman Feb 22, 2016

Here is the best photo that I have from the front:
    [​IMG]

5. C.R. Hoedeman Feb 22, 2016

6. abrod520 Feb 22, 2016

The photos in that listing come from Chrono24, and it's a genuine watch - BUT! - I'd bet if you went through checkout for the $200 or so at highestwatch.com , you'd just be ripped off - you probably wouldn't receive anything at all.

As to the one you're inquiring about above, I'm afraid I'm not good enough with these to be able to tell whether or not it's been relumed. I'm sure it's real though, at the very least. At the right price, it's probably worth buying. And if you decide to pass on it, let me know - I might like to do some inquiring on it myself :)

7. CajunTiger Cajuns and Gators can't read newspapers! Feb 22, 2016

anyone that can't provide a straight on hi-res shot of the dial should not be trusted. That being said, Im not making any judgement on this piece. I just find it odd that they can provide images at all angles except straight on...a sure sign they are hiding something.