Forums Latest Members
  1. karatekid Apr 29, 2014

Hi Guys
    First time poster but I have been reading a little bit here and there on this forum. I am a complete newbie when it comes
    to Omega and especially the vintage pieces. Im sure the level of expertise here is much more than I would acquire in a lifetime and therefore
    I humbly ask for your help.

Im looking to purchase my first omega and I have fallen deeply in love with the ploprof 166.077. I have done some reading myself
    and from what I understand this one has a type 1 dial and a service bezel insert. Is that correct?
    What should I think about when it comes to the insert and the dial? How bad is this
    dial according to you guys? I have read that the type 1 dial are almost impossible to find in good condition (without the bubbles or mould or what it is)...Will the value decrease substantially if I get the dial and insert swapped for service ones? Or should i look for a type 2 dial instead which are easier to find in good condition? I must say though that I do enjoy nice lume on a watch like this.

Im so sorry for all these questions and I know its difficult to be a newbie in a forum and ask for so much help without having participated in anything. I hope though that I can change that in the future:)

Here are two photos of the watch. I appreciate all help I can get. Thanks.

DSC05184_zpsbfcbe37e.jpg~original.jpeg DSC05185_zps8a374c40.jpg~original.jpeg
    Steve in SoCal likes this.
  2. michalko82 May 14, 2014

I can only comment that the case could do with an expensive refurbishment and you need to source an original bracelet...that can come to about £800, but it is probably worth it. My Ploprof is absolutely mint, but has new dial/hands and bezel (If I could marry your dial and hands with my case and bezel it would be perfect...)

3. bigdubnick May 14, 2014

No help from me - just wanted to say your avatar is badass. (RIP Pat Morita - you taught me how to paint a fence and wax a car)