Forums Latest Members
  1. StevieJ81 Jan 25, 2018

Hi All,
    I am new to watch collecting and this forum.
    Just wanted to get a bit of a steer from people who know alot more about vintage Omegas than I do.
    I have a chance to buy a Geneve Dynamic with the checker board face.
    The price is £350, I have only seen photos so far (see attached) and these do not include the movement (which I have asked to see)
    I just wanted your initial impressions based on the pics I have if this is a) legit and / or b) a Screenshot_20180124-203206.jpg 20180124_202838.png 20180124_202858.png good buy or not.
    I look forward to your responses.
    Thanks,
    Steve

2. fjf Jan 25, 2018

That case has been polished to death. Not a good buy.

Noddyman likes this.
  3. ahsposo Most fun screen name at ΩF Jan 25, 2018

I agree, nice dial but the case should have a radial brushing from the dial to the edge. That's been polished away.

The movement is accessed through the case front, the crystal is removed. Takes a special tool even a lot of watch enthusiasts won't have.

Noddyman likes this.
  4. StevieJ81 Jan 25, 2018

Thanks guys.
    Looks as though I should walk away from this one then.
    Appreciate the bullet dodge ;)

5. Vanallard Jan 25, 2018

Noddyman and StevieJ81 like this.
  6. mikechi22 Jan 28, 2018

I’m not expert enough to contradict the respected Members above, but I do recall reading in that blog that the second iteration of these watches had a polished steel finish. Now it’s possible that it’s from the earlier iteration so the guys are correct, but even still, that price doesn’t seem at all bad.