Forums Latest Members
  1. coromandeler Dec 8, 2013

Hi folks,

I've been trying to source a replacement dial for my Omega Geneve Dynamic Automatic, and have a few questions regarding this. I'm not an expert in this topic at all, so I'm hoping you guys can help me out here! The watch was my grandfathers, and is a generation-1 Dynamic. I'm not sure what the exact caliber number of the movement is: pulling the crown out to the very end (twice) advances the date by one (quickset?). Some online sources mention that this could indicate that the watch is a 565 caliber, although I'm not sure about this. I came across some Geneve dynamic dials ("bulls-eye" pattern) being sold online, which are advertized as being compatible with the caliber 1010 movement. I would like to know if these dials are compatible across calibers - would a dial meant for caliber 1010 fit a 565 (or similar) caliber? The diameter of the dial seems to match (32 mm), but I'm not sure if the position and size of the legs for example are identical across calibers?

Also, does Omega undertake repainting of dials? Any idea on how much this will cost (approximately)? Anyone got one done recently?

Thanks for your time, much appreciated! :)

2. SpikiSpikester @ ΩF Staff Member Dec 8, 2013

A first generation automatic Dynamic with date should be a cal 565. I've never heard of Omega redialling them though - only replacing them with a service dial. Can you post a photo so we can see what condition it's in ?

3. coromandeler Dec 8, 2013

Thanks for the reply SpikiSpikester. I'm attaching a photo below. The dial was repainted around 15 years back in India, and it was very poorly done (as you can see). The original dial colour was blue (bulls-eye pattern). I am hoping to restore it back to its glory days :) ... Other suggestions/pointers in this regard will be most welcome too!

Btw, the back case has the markings "TOOL 107" and "WATERPROOF" embossed on it. It runs fine, and keeps time pretty well.

DSC_0754.JPG