Forums Latest Auctions Members
  1. joso

joso Oct 19, 2015

hi, im new here on the forum. i am also new to vintage watches but have fallen in love with omega,s from the early 70,s. i have started to collect these cool watches but have made my first error, to go to a guy that told me he is very good with watches, and cheap. so now my first watch is partly destroyed-the starburst finnish is full of scratches.is it a dum idea to repolish and renovate a speedmaster mk iii at bienne if you want to keep the value on it. regards john

2. Northernman

Northernman Oct 19, 2015

Hi and welcome.
    Bienne is not a cheap way to go.
    If it is only the case that has been mangled then at least one of our forum members @photo500 may be your man.
    But first a hint: no pictures normally = no advice, but since you are a new kid in town you are let of with only a warning:)

tpatta and Geo! like this.
  3. Andy K

Andy K Dreaming about winning an OFfie one day. Oct 19, 2015

Hi and welcome. I will echo @Northernman and say we need pics! But based on your post I'd advise against Bienne - they'll charge more than the market value of a non-mint Mark III and they're likely to replace some parts that will drastically affect the value of the watch.

4. Northernman

Northernman Oct 19, 2015

Just to illustrate: Here are two Omega "jumbo" ChronoStop cases Adam/@photo500 did for me.
    Both had been butchered and polished far beyond what I presumed was possible to rescue.
    I was wrong!
    [​IMG]

Farmer and photo500 like this.
  5. Stewart H

Stewart H Honorary NJ Resident Oct 19, 2015

It all depends on where in the world you are. If you are in Europe, I would recommend contacting STS in the UK. They can work wonders with cases.

I guess you have found out, the hard way, that the best watchmakers are not necessarily the best people to work on the case. There is a watchmaker that I trust implicitly with my best pieces but I wouldn't ask him to re-finish a stainless steel case.