Forums Latest Members
  1. Markinrecess Apr 22, 2017

I should preface this by saying that I am relatively new to the world of vintage Omega. In this time I have noticed some pretty extreme prices. Is this the creation of a bubble? There are a couple of example to cite.
    The most recent being today.
    An Omega Seamaster 300 165.024. The estimate at a provincial English auction house was £250 - £450, which was obvously a low estimate. I received images from the auction house and with much looking still wasn't 100% sure of its authenticity.
    1. The fact that the case back was lathed clean
    2. Potential stubbies at 4 points (which could be case scratches)
    3. invisible T swiss made T
    My personal estimate would be a conservative £2000 given the potential risk. I also shared it on OF and most responses were wary
    Yet it sold for £9500 including fees etc
    I might add dot over 90 bezels are selling for £5000. Is this all pure speculation? Or have vintage Omega been previously underpriced ? seamaster back 1.JPG Seamaster 300 front.JPG

2. Tony C. Ωf Jury member Apr 22, 2017

B-U-B-B-L-E

That's not to say that the most desirable, rare, and/or "important" examples won't retain their values better than the ordinary ones, but yes, it's a bubble, it will burst, and you will see prices come down.

Note, however, that the auction estimate was so ludicrously low, that it provides no useful context.

3. gatorcpa ΩF InvestiGator Staff Member Apr 22, 2017

Yes to both.

Money abhors a vacuum.
    gatorcpa

Markinrecess and noelekal like this.
  4. ahsposo Most fun screen name at ΩF Apr 22, 2017

My cats abhor a vacuum.

5. Jwit Not a doctor, but plays one on ΩF Apr 22, 2017

@Tony C. do you think when the bubble bursts it will effect new releases/AD & Boutique prices as well? Or strictly the vintage models that are readily available everywhere?

Markinrecess likes this.
  6. gatorcpa ΩF InvestiGator Staff Member Apr 22, 2017