Forums Latest Members

Omega 8 day clock. Swedish military issued. Fairly rare I reckon

1. Gstp Apr 21, 2015

It seems I did something wrong in my first first post on this fine forum, or that could be misunderstood. So I try a new first post.

As a newbie here I would like to share a Omega 8 day ships clock with you, and I sincerly hope there isn't a clock sub-forum I have missed.

Anyway this a not just a average, ordinary, moderate, run-of-the-mill, common-or-garden clock, but a genuine Swedish Navy clock from the late 40s.

It is marked with the symbol for "tre kronor" in the form the navy used. Or so I've been told.

Im not quite sure of the calibre but I think it's a 59-8d

And my guess that there is not too many of these around, or am I wrong ....

omega 6.jpg Omega 7.jpg

2. Tom Dick and Harry Apr 21, 2015

Thats a beauty, I have had a few of these 8 day clocks, including a very early brass cased deck clock, they are wonderful timekeeping machines. Sadly all of mine have moved on to new homes, the deck clock is on display at STS and I have to make do with an electroquartz and Marine Chronometer desk clocks now ;) Its a hard hard life

3. Darlinboy Pratts! Will I B******S!!! Apr 21, 2015

Quite uncommon in my experience, and yours is quite a fine example!

4. Gstp Apr 22, 2015

Thanks guys. Have some of you any idea how bid the swedish navy was in the 40s? Sort of trying to get an idea how many that could have been issued - which I know might be a long stretch. However there is quite a a few other swedish military watches floating around ; Lemania TG195 and Viggen are not uncommon , and I've seen some "three crowns" pocket watches too.

But maybe this is more a question for military forums than an Omega place :)

5. tdn-dk Apr 22, 2015

I have seen several from the navy on Kaplans and Tradera, they were used as wall clock's on the Swedish navy wessels.
    I have a non army similar model also from Sweden, proberly have been sitting in a bus or truck