Forums Latest Members
  1. Stinkgnome May 8, 2018

Hey, everybody. I really hope this gets seen. This is my first time posting on this, or really any other forum aside from Reddit. I recently purchased this Omega 504 Constellation from a guy at a watch show. He seemed reasonable and he was open about some of his other watches that had replacement parts, so I felt safe buying from him. However, after some more research. I'm worried that he may have unknowingly sold me a frankenwatch.

Firstly, the crown. I'm pretty sure this is not a Constellation crown. It's not that iconic geometric shape.
    Secondly, the hands. They seem kind of long, don't they? I'm no expert, but the hands on other 504s that I've seen online seem shorter.
    Lastly, the dial. I haven't seen another 504 with this dial. The crosshair is straight and clean, but unusual. The tick marks are on the inside of the indices and not the outside like most I'm seeing. The script that says "Automatic" seems really close to the raised Omega logo. Almost touching it. Also it does not say "Calendar" at the bottom above the star.

What do I have here? Am I being paranoid? Are these inconsistencies common in vintage watches? I'm worried that I paid too much. I have his contact info, and originality is sort of important to me, so should I ask for a refund? Let me know if more pictures would be helpful.
    20180428_192444.jpg 20180501_171444.jpg 1525836624369220479852024258310.jpg

2. BenBagbag May 8, 2018

Hey, you came to the right place and we hope you stay a while.

I would ask the guy for a refund. Dial has been poorly refinished. Fake star even.

Crown is not original as you mention (but is a genuine replacement). Movement looks like the Sahara Desert (not good). The hands may be correct but don't line up at all with the current dial. Date wheel also looks strange to me.

If you are worried you paid too much, you did. This is far far from a collector grade piece.