Forums Latest Members
  1. ZigZagoon Nov 4, 2019

Hi all,

I'm looking to purchase this cal. 33.3 Omega Chronograph but I'm not sure what to check for regarding authenticity/frankenwatches/redials/replacements, could you advise me on what I should be looking out for and what your opinions of this watch are?

Thank you!

2b790162217f3f95dda125c351876d76_17.jpg 19d6336f611b735604db83c2c9cbecec_17.jpg 45ccd24b9c24f569678eeb47fde2c3a5_17.jpg 55a7cdc7294e357b94ccf99d085af9cf_9.jpg 76bd48fcc2e8997ed7325dad67bf6750_9.jpg a70b6082a69b90d187fdf32ae5ced743_17.jpg a63977da4f5b66829908dd61e00f8243_17.jpg d2ff6a4abdf677ad75dc389a43d8d257_17.jpg e86ae24d8eff4ba986d993d5b9fa58f9_17.jpg f2d410128b495a4e1e55599534fff8fa_17.jpg
  2. budgewink Nov 4, 2019

That's a stunner, and right up my street. Would need to be babied though. I'm no expert but think it looks superb. Good luck with how it pans out.

3. Vitezi Nov 4, 2019

I'd say you're jumping right into the deep end of the pool. :) Even the experts get fooled by frankens and redials on these late-30s chronographs. Unscrupulous dealers will swap out movements from functioning watches with knackered dials into broken watches with great dials, and no one ever knows unless you've also kept a database of movement serial numbers and their corresponding dials and cases. And, because these watches are valuable, the redialers have become crazy good at cranking out aftermarket dials.

That being said, if you're seriously contemplating this watch, let's call @mac_omega who is one of our forum experts on these watches.

For the $30,000 to $40,000 that you'll drop on that watch, it should at least come to you completely serviced and well regulated, but even from the tiny photos above you should be able to tell that your watch is out of adjustment. If you're buying from a dealer and they're telling you the watch is serviced, that should be a warning (buy the seller).