Forums Latest Members

Omega 321 overhaul/service question. Original parts?

1. Francis_Assisi Oct 19, 2015

Hi everyone, this is my first post and I'm very excited indeed!

I have an Omega Speedmaster 321 from 1967 that i bought on eBay. I was lucky because I came across a genuine seller who assured me that the watch was completely original, movement parts and all! I am a novice but when i completed the purchase I had no idea as of the risks I was taking. I took the watch to my esteemed watchmaker in Perth, Western Australia to confirm the original parts and watch. And as it turned out it was dial and all! even the crystal is original.. However there was one aspect of the watch that caused a bit of concern and that was the pushers on the chronograph were not the same. I thought this was odd and told my watchmaker about it. Indeed they were different but the big concern was that the case was modified for the 'new' pusher which would really do damage in my opinion on the watches originality. I spoke to the watchmaker just now and he came back with good news that the watch was not modified and that an original pusher may be source for the reference. This made me happy and I will probably keep the watch because of this news.

My question is... the watch needs a service and overhaul. This includes this like the mainspring, crown, pushers etc and other parts within the movement to be replaced. I was assured that the watch parts will be original Omega correct for the reference so keeping the watch with original parts. I am happy for the parts on the movement to be fixes how ever the bezel can be replaced with an original. Right now the bezel has gone through the mill and has damage on it. My question, should I go through with the overhaul and replacement of bezel or keep them as they are? I want to service the watch and get original parts to keep it working but what about the bezel?