Forums Latest Members

Omega 30T1 Bi-Metallic Balance Wheel Advice Needed! 1940

1. VintageOmegaLove May 7, 2019

Hi all,

As the title suggests, I need some advice on my Omega 30T1 bi-metallic balance wheel. I've posted about this watch previously, but this time I am looking for some help on the correct balance wheel: bi-metallic compensation (Earnshaw cut) with adjustments screws. I understand the part number is 260-1327 (correct me if I'm wrong) however, there have been so many iterations of this part and I am looking specifically for the bi-metallic version.

Questions:
    1. Can I take the bi-metallic balance wheel from other movements such as the Cal 26.5 SOB, Cal 28, or even from a pocket watch movement?
    2. I know the movements are different sizes, but do the balance wheel size differ as well?
    3. Do the positions of the adjustments screws on the balance wheel matter, or can they be placed accordingly?

These may seem like silly questions to some, but I'm still learning. Please spare me some leniency ::bleh::

Or...maybe you would recommend me to replace the entire balance wheel with bridge because of the rust. I'm happy to hear what you have to say, whatever it is!

I've attached photos below of my movement (first photo), as well as other movements mentioned above.

IMG_2727 copy 2.jpg

Cal. 28

Screen Shot 2019-05-07 at 15.03.19.png

Cal. 26.5 SOB
    Screen Shot 2019-05-07 at 15.02.57.png

Unknown Pocket Watch Movement
    Screen Shot 2019-05-07 at 15.02.43.png

Thanks to all who reply! Hope you have a great day!

All the best,
    Chris

2. mac_omega May 7, 2019

Chris,

why do you want to replace the balance of your watch - it does not look bad...

No, the balances from the movements mentioned in your OP will not fit. You will have to find a donor movement if a replacement must be done.

best
    erich

VintageOmegaLove likes this.
  3. VintageOmegaLove May 7, 2019

Hi Erich,