Forums Latest Members
  1. SERP May 17, 2020

Dear Sirs,
    Could you help me by your opinions..?
    Some time ago I bought an interesting Omega at cal. 283.
    I will try to attribute it and if I'll be wrong in some points, I will ask you for correction.
    So, the serial says that these watch been made in 1954.
    Body, the sealed cap and the shape of the crown tells me that this is a Pre-Seamaster.
    Crown has no logo, but to me it looks authentic.

My opinion is that the watch is completely genuine.
    I suppose that it's rather rare variation of the 2792 Omega.

Another question about the price - how much should it cost?
    It wasn't a cheap purchase, so I'd like to understand, should I be a little sad or happy from the purchase I made..

Thanks in advance!
    Regards, Serge.

IMG_20200517_104124.jpg IMG_20200517_104137.jpg IMG_20200517_104115.jpg IMG_20200517_104037.jpg IMG_20200517_104041.jpg

2. ZIELSZIEK May 17, 2020

I'm no expert so take what I say with a grain of salt.
    This is not a rare watch at all.
    A quick google search yielded another couple of similar ones. Same happened when searching the forum.
    The dial is bad. I personally like patina but this one is not exactly my cup of tea.
    The omega logo also looks off(size/thickness/execution), pointing to a most likely redialed watch. That crooked "E" raises a red flag. I doubt I'm wrong about this but I'd be happy to be proven so.
    The case condition is not stellar, to say the least, when compared a similar watch on the forum that is in very good shape.
    The luminous plots appear to be mostly gone from the dial, judging by the provided picture. This also confirms my suspicion of a redial.
    What do you mean by "not a cheap purchase" ? I honestly hope you can work something out with the seller and send it back.
    Can't comment on the crown being the proper one but at this point I doubt it matters at all.
    Hope this helps.