Forums Latest Members
  1. marsav Dec 3, 2016

Hello I am a newbie in the world of vintage watches. Having searched quite a bit I am considering purchasing an Omega 1965 Seamaster 600 ref. 136.011. The supplier is "Connoisseur Of Time" from chrono24 who also has a very good rating at eBay. The serial number seems to match the year of manufacturer and to my eyes seems a decent vintage but I am not sure. Although I read some threads I am still not able to tell if the dial of this watch is repainted or if the hands are the original or if the polish is too much/undesired. Your advise on these matters and in whatever else you think is important, is very much appreciated. Thanks!

Screen Shot 2016-12-03 at 12.41.41 PM.png Screen Shot 2016-12-03 at 12.41.41 PM.png Screen Shot 2016-12-03 at 12.43.17 PM.png Screen Shot 2016-12-03 at 12.42.47 PM.png Screen Shot 2016-12-03 at 12.49.19 PM.png Screen Shot 2016-12-03 at 12.48.47 PM.png
  2. Vicke Dec 3, 2016

Have you even cared to read the description on the site you are referring to?

Edited Dec 3, 2016
  3. Vicke Dec 3, 2016

In my opinion any polishing/refinfishing is a no go. But if you like the look of a watch and want to wear it as is, go ahead.

4. Davidt Dec 3, 2016

Come on.

The description says the dial has been refinished.

5. Screwbacks Dec 3, 2016

it's called new vintage.;)

6. MPWATCH Watch Lover Dec 3, 2016

Welcome Marsav,

Not many things from 1965 show zero patina/aging as this example does. Expect to see some type of aging - If you see a dial and instantly think it's "brand new" or "new old stock" and it being sold anywhere but OF, pass. OF members know what they're looking at and will represent pieces honestly. Chrono24 is not the best place to be acquiring vintage Omega. I would suggest reading through the forums until you've seen the hundreds of examples/comparisons provided on refinished dials before diving into a purchase. Practice makes perfect, and it's definitely true with spotting a redial.