Forums Latest Members
  1. omega-me Aug 18, 2016

Hello,
    I've found an old Omega 14389 (Seamaster) watch that belongs to my father (1959-1962 period). I want to repair it because the glass is broken and the dial is yellow.
    In a jewelery they ask me about 20€ for the glass, 160/180 € for the new ceramic dial and 60€ for the revision of the watch. Total: about 250€.

I can't find how much this watch worth. Do you think that I should repair it? You would spend 250€ to repair this watch? I'm not an expert and I would like to know if it worth 250€. Repair or not repair it? this is the question :)

You can find a photo of the watch here: http://www.poshtime.com/watches/3024.151f.jpg (this is NOT my whatch, just an image of the model)

2. Foo2rama Keeps his worms in a ball instead of a can. Aug 18, 2016

How bad is the dial? Can you provide a picture?

3. omega-me Aug 18, 2016

Hi, thak you for your reply.
    I don't have the watch at the moment but I'll try to post a photo if possibile. Do you know how much the watch can worth? I find prices from 250 to 3000 $ online and I can't understand the medium value...

4. omega-me Aug 18, 2016

Sorry for the double post.

The jewelery kindly sent me a photo. The the attached image.

img.jpg
  5. Tiny Iota Could potentially be the Official OF Stalker ™ Aug 18, 2016

Is that patina or water damage? Looks pretty streaky.

6. ConElPueblo Aug 18, 2016

A few issues here...

The question is not about repairing it because it needs repairing, it's...

...Whether the watch will have a monetary value that is €250 higher after the repair. If it's about sentimental value, it's a completely different game.

I don't think the watch will gain much value from servicing, but I'm pretty sure that it may well lose value from