Forums Latest Members
  1. watchThis Nov 4, 2014

I have a Speedmaster which is about 45 years old. To me it has great sentimental value. Anyway, after several months and more than $1100, I just got it back from the Omega New Jersey repair facility. They replaced the case as well as the case back. The new back has the 'Flight-Qualified...' inscription on it unlike the original. Does this affect the value of the watch?

2. cicindela Steve @ ΩF Staff Member Nov 4, 2014

Yes, it greatly lowers it. Did they replace the hands, dial or bezel , these things too can have a detrimental affect.

3. Davidt Nov 4, 2014

Did they return the original piece to you? If not, contact them asap. They may still have them. If you so desired, you could then return the watch to it's original condition.

4. Spacefruit Prolific Speedmaster Hoarder Nov 4, 2014

As far as a collector, such as myself, all value has been lost.

Literally it has no appeal to me as all the original parts have gone. As such, it is arguable that it is not the watch that you have such emotional attachment to.

It is absolutely negligent that Omega staff allowed this. Only an emotionally vacant gibbon would have failed notice that this was a special watch to you, and allowed every important part to be replaced. In today's age, staff should recognise a potentially valuable vintage piece and know to at least check with the customer about such a dramatic alteration to the watch.

if you can get original parts back then it can be saved.

if not, then it's another terrible example of what Omega does to vintage.

Its a shame, because I have heard that Omega in Bienne is becoming more sympathetic.

i am very, very sorry for the loss of this watch. As I said, if you can get the parts, you may save the day.

Varasc and ICONO like this.
  5. g-boac Nov 4, 2014