Forums Latest Members

Number of winding turns for automatic?

1. Morseman Feb 27, 2018

I'm pretty new to watch collecting, but it seems that when I wind several of my automatics that have wound down completely, I need to do about twice as many turns until I hear the ratchet as for a non-automatic to be fully wound. Is the manual wind gear train of automatics significantly different than for a non-automatic?

2. Kwijibo Feb 27, 2018

usually in automatic watches there's a safety device so has not to break the spring. Si you can wind them endlessly, well, if you have time to do so :)

3. Canuck Feb 27, 2018

Mechanically, the manual wind system is a bit different because the automatic system and the manual system are interconnected. But the hand wind function works pretty well the same, with differences with the ratchet system. The biggest difference between the automatic and manual winders is the mainspring and the mainspring barrel. To prevent overwinding, the automatic mainspring is fitted with a calibrated clutch that begins to slip once the spring is fully wound. This prevents over winding of the automatic. Typically, about 30 to 40 turns of the winding crown on an automatic is enough to wind the mainspring fully. As to “hearing” the ratchet system on an automatic? Most automatics made little to no sound as manual winding happens. You might be hearing the clutch on the mainspring slipping. Mostly, you hear a “whirring” sound as you manually wind an automatic.

noelekal and Vitezi like this.
  4. Morseman Feb 27, 2018

Right, not the ratchet. I meant that I wind the auto until, listening carefully, I first hear the clutch. It just seems to take many more turns than fully winding a manual.

5. Canuck Feb 27, 2018