Forums Latest Members
  1. rhawthorn Feb 19, 2018

I have been discussing this watch described as Omega Seamaster Automatic Cal 1020 Watch I believe it is around a 1978.
    I am a complete novice but looking to learn, I wanted an opinion as to whether it looks right or has it been made of many other watches

Would really appreciate any help

Omega.jpg Omega1.jpg Omega2.jpg Omega3.jpg Omega4.jpg
  2. JohnSteed Feb 19, 2018

\More experienced OF family will likely advise soon

You can type in case reference numbers to get info off the web. For example, one result using “Omega 166 0209” you know Omega made the reference-

https://omegaforums.net/threads/novice-looking-to-buy-vintage-omega.71485/

849CEE93-53BB-4296-A4BD-CBA5417ED22D.jpeg

One search using ‘omega 166 0209’ gets you this and much more -
    https://omegaforums.net/threads/help-with-vintage-seamaster-166-0209.64669/

Above and other posts can help you check fonts on the dial are original or repainted. For example, compare “Swiss made” on your target with others. On the internals such as movement, work through same process.

Time it takes you to figure it out is worth while.....good luck

rhawthorn likes this.
  3. shaun hk Fairy nuffer Feb 19, 2018

Personally I would not buy that or recommend it to a friend. The dial appears to be repainted and the day and date wheels do not match.
    I would recommend searching this forum for a thread titled “Teach a man to fish” and reading it thoroughly before buying anything. The sales forums here are also a good hunting ground as they are in many ways vetted by the members and misrepresentations will generally be noted.
    Good luck and hang around, it’s a great place to learn.

Jerseyhammer and rhawthorn like this.
  4. Jerseyhammer Feb 20, 2018

The advice from Shaun hk is sound , but it depends on the price being asked and what you want the watch for. As a herlum I think you could find better examples but it’s all about your budget

5. rhawthorn Feb 20, 2018