Forums Latest Members

Novice Collector - Moonwatch Advice Please

1. Jon R Jan 21, 2014

Dear All - As an engineer, I've been fascinated by precision mechanical instruments and have various vintage clocks and music boxes which are all used for the purposes for which they were originally intended. I've gravitated towards watches in recent years and have started a small collection - again, all are used as watches.

In terms of vintage watches, I have:
    - a 1963 Omega mechanical cal 269 - quite polished and more than likely re-finished face but I love wearing it and it keeps great time.
    - a 1963 Omega automatic Seamaster cal 552 - recently purchased from Alpha. Love wearing this one too and it also keeps great time (photos better than I could hope to take still on the forum) - compliments the 269 nicely.
    - a 1950's vintage ladies cocktail cal 481 - stunning watch which my wife wears on special occasions.
    - a 1943 Omega Officer - recently purchased via the forum from "Northernman" - I love the associated history - the watch is stunning for 70 years old (fantastic photos still on the forum).
    - a 1923 gold Rolex Tonneau complete with box and original guarantee - quite polished and likely a re-finished dial but, again, I love it and I do wear it to special occasions. Again - I just wonder who originally owned that - was it somebody (an officer perhaps) who survived WW 1 and what it may have seen in the last 90 years…… If only they could talk.

More modern watches include; ladies and gents Cartier (quartz movement) Tanks, JS Watch Co (Iceland) Sif black helicopter pilot edition and Omega PO GoodPlanet GMT. All worn on a regular basis with my GoodPlanet being my daily wearer right now.

I will post photos on a separate thread (promise!).