Forums Latest Members
  1. BenBagbag Mar 22, 2017

Hey guys,

I'm still trying to learn more about Omegas. I figure if I see a watch on Ebay that doesn't make it to the recommended page it is NOT recommended. I am still learning (I've only been stalking these forums for a bit over a month) so I would like to know what I am missing. Thank you for all your help. You should know that I have done research on this one. I cannot find many examples of a 2496 out there. I have not seen one with crosshairs like this but they seem to go to the end of the case. The Omega logo looks time appropriate.

Here is the listing:
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/VINTAGE-c-1...234781?hash=item5696dcb79d:g:~FMAAOSwImRYiTSzPurchases made through these links may earn this site a commission from the eBay Partner Network

That being said I'd love to know why this one isn't recommended? Is there a dead giveaway that I'm missing? s-l1600 (1).jpg s-l1600 (3).jpg s-l1600 (4).jpg s-l1600 (5).jpg s-l1600.jpg s-l1600 (2).jpg

This is an example of OF user fjf's 283-2496 (which is why I assume the font is ok and why it is okay that there is no Seamaster on it)
    fjf283.jpg

2. waterproofpt Mar 22, 2017

Although the folks here keep an eye on auctions I don't think it's reasonable to expect that every single listing will be vetted. So Just because it doesn't show up on that thread as a recommended watch doesn't necessarily mean that it is one to be avoided. But it sounds like you're on the right path and doing some good research.

3. hoipolloi Vintage Omega Connoisseur Mar 22, 2017

That is a nice watch but it is not a seamaster because it is not waterproof, the size is about 33mm I think.

4. RJwatches Mar 22, 2017

Heavy patina, if it's your thing this is a good watch.

5. jrhave2 Mar 22, 2017